Skip Navigation

 

NCORE WEBINAR SERIES

NCORE is the most comprehensive national forum on issues of race and ethnicity in American higher education. The NCORE Webinar Series continues the conference’s tradition of working to improve racial and ethnic relations on college campuses by providing virtual learning opportunities on effective strategies to enhance access, social development, education, communication, and cross-cultural understanding for traditionally underrepresented populations. We are excited to announce the 2020-2021 webinar schedule below with sessions facilitated by leading scholars and experts.

NCORE also continues to curate sessions that speak directly to the experiences of students and are either facilitated or co-facilitated by students. These free sessions are intended to identify emerging scholars and introduce new voices into the world of higher education. 

Click the session titles for descriptions, presenters, registration, and more information. Webinars will be held LIVE from 3:00 - 4:30 PM Central Time (4:00-5:30 PM Eastern / 2:00-3:30 PM Mountain / 1:00-2:30 PM Pacific). Convert other time zones to Central Time here.

 

Upcoming Webinars

 

October 28, 2020

"Race, Class, Gender and Media”: Teaching Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion in Media and Communications Studies - $25.00

 

November 18, 2020

And Then They Came for Me, and No One was Left: The Inequities of Cancel Culture - $25.00

 

December 2, 2020

When They See Us: Experiences of Black Males Navigating Historically White Institutions - FREE

 

January 27, 2021

The Forgotten Constituency: Engaging Staff in Campus DEI Initiatives - $25.00

 

February 3, 2021

ADOS, Sh**t-Hole Countries, and (Which) Black Lives Matter: Engaging Contemporary Intra-racial and Transnational Dynamics Surrounding Black College Students - FREE

 

February 24, 2021

The MIS-Education of the Black Male Student-Athlete: How Socio-demographic (Self) Identifiers Influence their Identity Development and their Involvement in College  - $25.00

 

March 3, 2021

Accepted to Assimilate: Implications for Racial Mismatch Between Education Ph.D. Students and Their Faculty - FREE

 

March 31, 2021

Using Autoethnography to Develop Race Cognizance in White Folks on Campus - $25.00

 

April 7, 2021

Killing Me Softly: Suicide Among African American, Asian, Pacific Islander and LGBTQ+ Students - FREE

 

April 28, 2021

To Be Announced

 

 

Important Details

  • Webinars will be held LIVE from 3:00 - 4:30 PM Central Time (4:00-5:30 PM Eastern / 2:00-3:30 PM Mountain / 1:00-2:30 PM Pacific). Convert other time zones to Central Time here.
  • Registration will close at 4:30 PM Central Time the day before the webinar. Space is limited and may fill before this date.
  • Student track webinars are always available at no cost but you must register in advance. (Registration for these webinars will open approximately two weeks before each session.)
  • Registrants will receive an email with the Zoom link the morning of the session.
  • All registrants will receive a recording approximately a week after the webinar.
  • Live captions and sign language provided.

sign language symbol


 

NCORE strives to provide equal access to all our programming and content, including NCORE Webinars. All NCORE presenters are expected to follow NCORE’s accessibility guidelines whenever possible. Click below to review this information. Questions? Email ncorewebinars@ou.edu for assistance.

Webinar Accessibility Requirements & Guidelines

 

NCORE talk bubble logo